SF HQ West
AOR of Security Force Headquarters (West) spreads over 04 administrative provinces (-), Western Province, Southern province less Hambantota District, North Western Province, Sabaragamuwa Province) which includes 09 x Districts (Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Galle, Matara, puttalam, Kurunegala, Ratnapura, Kegalle) covered with a total land area of 19,475 sq kms which comes to 29.73 percentage of land area of the Island. The stretch of a 471.09 kms coastal area also comes under the AOR of this HQ starting from MODARAGAMMARU (North of KUDIRAMALE) to DICKWELLA.
The population of SF HQ (West) AOR is (11,978,780).
Sinhalese - 86.45
Srilankan Tamil - 4.18%
Indian Tamil - 1.58%
Srilankan Moors - 7.13%
Burgher - 0.23%
Malay - 0.23%
Others - 0.20%
The AOR of this HQ will be placed under the 02 x Infantry Divisions. At present this HQ is functioning with 01 x infantry division, 05 x Bdes (141 Bde, 142 Bde, 143 Bde, 144 Bde and 583 Bde) and 10 Bns which include 06 x Regular and 04 x Volunteer Bns.